Published: Tue, March 24, 2020
Health Care | By Cedric Leonard

Trump Will Add U.K., Ireland To European Travel Suspension

Trump Will Add U.K., Ireland To European Travel Suspension

Donald Trump also says he is establishing a fund to ensure that all "working Americans, quot; affected by the virus can stay home without worrying about financial difficulties". Administration officials view Europe as a new epicenter for the pandemic.

"The European Union disapproves of the fact that the United States decision to impose a travel ban was taken unilaterally and without consultation", the statement read.

"After consulting with our top government health professionals, I have made a decision to take several strong but necessary actions to protect the health and well-being of all Americans", Trump said. The ban takes effect this Friday at midnight and will last for 30 days thereafter.

Trump's top advisers had discussed potential new travel advisories on Europe during meetings at the White House on Wednesday, according to two officials familiar with the matter. These restrictions will also not apply to the United Kingdom.

Trump's action to limit travel reflected how consistently restrictions on immigration have figured in his policymaking.

B.C. government announces $5B relief plan amid COVID-19 outbreak
Six people who were previously infected with the virus have now recovered and the remaining patients are at home in isolation. At Monday's press conference, Henry said Lynn Valley had no seen 36 residents and 19 staffers infected by the virus.

Trump noted that there will be exemptions for Americans who have undergone appropriate screenings, but did not elaborate. These are not easy decisions but they are required.

Trump delivered his address amid a new wave of panic - both inside and outside the White House - on the same day the World Health Organization labeled the virus a pandemic and the longest bull market in American history came to a crashing end.

"These countries, known as the Schengen Area, include: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland". The State Department further clarified that the ban will not apply to American citizens, permanent residents or other family members. Indeed, the European Union response to Trump came from its central leaders.

His main policy response was to ban the entry to the USA of foreign nationals who have been in Europe within 14 days of arrival in the US, although his description of the ban sparked initial confusion.

As the coronavirus continues to spread worldwide, the USA and many other nations have enacted tough measures to contain the illness, including barring foreign visitors from countries ravaged by the outbreak.

Like this: