Published: Tue, March 24, 2020
Global News | By Blake Casey

COVID-19 cases in United States top 16,000: Johns Hopkins University

COVID-19 cases in United States top 16,000: Johns Hopkins University

The same Johns Hopkins coronavirus monitor showed that the death toll has now surpassed 11,300 worldwide as of mid-Saturday, with the possibility of breaching 12,000 by the end of the day Al Jazeera reported.

That's a rise of more than 1,000 cases in 24 hours. Only China, Italy and Spain are harder hit than the U.S.

As of 12:45 CET (07:45 EDT, 04:45 PDT) there were 26,900 confirmed cases of coronavirus in the U.S., with 348 deaths.

Over 1,800 people have died in Spain, while the current death toll is almost 1,700 in Iran.

Coronavirus pushes eurozone to largest plunge in business activity ever
The survey likely still understates March activity as more restrictive measures came into effect after the survey was conducted. Only producers in the food and drink, and chemicals and plastics sectors reported growth of output in March.


Georgia was the worst affected state in terms of deaths with six new fatalities, while California recorded four, including the first in Monterey County, an adult with an underlying health condition.

The countries with the highest number of deaths, in order, are Italy, China and Iran. Even if America cuts its rate of transmission in half, roughly 650,000 people could be infected in the next couple months.

A total of 10,030 people have died of the pandemic among 244,517 confirmed cases around the globe, the CSSE said. A bulk of the cases are in New York City, which now accounts for about one-third of all cases in the the country.

Like this: