Published: Tue, March 24, 2020
Global News | By Blake Casey

Coronavirus global cases surpass 300,000, Johns Hopkins reports

Coronavirus global cases surpass 300,000, Johns Hopkins reports

The worldwide death toll from the coronavirus pandemic climbed to 14,759 on Monday, as per figures compiled by the US -based Johns Hopkins University.

Gallatin County continues to see the most cases, jumping from 10 to 16.

Italy has the world's deadliest official coronavirus outbreak, but Iran's cases are nearly certainly being underreported.

As of 12:45 CET (07:45 EDT, 04:45 PDT) there were 26,900 confirmed cases of coronavirus in the U.S., with 348 deaths.

More stories from theweek.comTrump administration asks states to delay releasing unemployment numbersLindsey Graham is reportedly trying to talk Trump out of coronavirus relief checks for AmericansGOP Sen.

Evers to Issue "Safer at Home" Order on Tuesday
Evers said almost 13,000 restaurants across the state have been ordered to close except for delivery and pickup services. They should also not schedule play dates or sleep overs, or dinner parties, etc.


Lothar Wieler, head of the country's Robert Koch Institute, said some 2,809 people have recovered from the virus but it is still early for optimism.

The countries with the highest number of deaths, in order, are Italy, China and Iran.

Four cases are now confirmed in Flathead County, up from two.

The COVID-19 outbreak has been declared a pandemic by the World Health Organization (WHO), and the Johns Hopkins University data shows the virus has now spread to 167 countries and regions.

The Johns Hopkins figures far exceed the official tally compiled by the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), which are updated daily.

Like this: