Published: Wed, January 22, 2020
Sport | By Kayla Schwartz

LA City Council asks Major League Baseball to name Dodgers World Series champs

LA City Council asks Major League Baseball to name Dodgers World Series champs

"We're going to be in the World Series again".

The Los Angeles Dodgers lost the 2017 and 2018 World Series to the Houston Astros and the Boston Red Sox, the two teams at the heart of MLB's electronic sign-stealing scandal. The resolution also asks that the Dodgers, who were on the losing end in both series, be awarded the championships.

The sign-stealing scandal reportedly was implemented by then Astros bench coach Alex Cora.

The Astros also were docked multiple draft picks and received a $5 million fine, although no current players were disciplined.

An investigation into the Red Sox is still underway, but the club has already parted ways with manager Joey Cora.

"We want it to be clear that this city spoke up for its team".

At least 75 'highly dangerous' inmates escape Paraguay prison via tunnel
It ran from a prison bathroom, according to Andrada, and there were only 25 metres between the tunnel and the nearest guard post. The ministry plans to investigate whether there were any collaborators inside the prison.

The NCAA, which is far from an organization to be modeled after, didn't just hand the Heisman Trophy to former Texas quarterback and runner-up Vince Young when it took away Reggie Bush's award after finding he accepted improper benefits while attending USC.

The Los Angeles Dodgers put together one of the best seasons in franchise history in 2017, finishing with an MLB-best 104 wins and reaching the World Series for the first time since 1988.

It is true, that several Astros players who were active on social media and prominent in MLB's youth movement have gone quiet since Major League Baseball handed down their list of punishments last week. The L.A. City Council should probably focus on more important issues in the meantime.

The L.A. City Council is set to vote on its resolution at 10 a.m. Tuesday.

The Astros beat the Dodgers in a dramatic seven-game series in 2017 while the Red Sox won the World Series in five games over the Dodgers in 2018.

Like this: