Published: Thu, January 16, 2020
Sport | By Kayla Schwartz

MS Dhoni not included in BCCI's new annual player contracts

MS Dhoni not included in BCCI's new annual player contracts

In 2018/19, Dhoni was in Grade A of BCCI contract list.

The former captain quit Test cricket in 2014 and has not played for India since taking a break after the team's semi-finals exit at the 50-overs World Cup in England past year.

The BCCI announced the central contracts for the period of October 2019 to September 2020. The trio of Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma and Jasprit Bumrah has been fitted into the Grade A+ category, who will receive INR 7 Cr.

Earlier last week, former India captain Sunil Gavaskar questioned Dhoni's sabbatical from the game, asking "does anybody keep himself away from playing for India for that long?"

Dhoni was in the A category, which fetches a player Rs 5 crore, up until previous year.

Category A: Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Mohammad Shami, Ishant Sharma, Kuldeep Yadav and Rishabh Pant.

Manchester United still have the resources to compete at top table - Solskjaer
I didn't play in all these games when I was playing but I felt like, as a team, we improved when we got in a rhythm of match, rest, match, rest.

The 11 players grouped in the A grade with retainers of $A1million include Rishabh Pant, who is seen as Dhoni's successor in limited-overs cricket.

The likes of Shreyas Iyer, Mayank Agarwal, Navdeep Saini, Washington Sundar and Deepak Chahar have been included in the list of centrally contracted players for the first time.

In his 14 years of worldwide cricketing career, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, also known as Mahi, has won all major trophies for India, including the World Cup 2011, Champions Trophy, T20 World Cup.

Meanwhile, head coach Ravi Shastri had recently revealed that Dhoni may soon end his ODI career.

Notably, Dhoni retired from Test cricket in December 2014.

Like this: