Published: Mon, December 09, 2019
Global News | By Blake Casey

Congress crumbles, Yediyurappa strengthens his hold in the assembly

Congress crumbles, Yediyurappa strengthens his hold in the assembly

The election results will have a bearing on the future of the four-month-old BJP government, led by B S Yediyurappa, in Karnataka.

Counting of votes have started for 15 assembly seats that went for bypolls on 5 December.

With 105 seats in the Assembly, the BJP needs to win at least seven seats to claim a majority.

The current strength of the Assembly is 208, with the BJP having the support of 106 MLAs, including one independent legislator.

NDTV is one of the leaders in the production and broadcasting of un-biased and comprehensive news and entertainment programmes in India and overseas.

"We will win with a lead of 25,000-30,000 votes in most of the constituencies and according to our estimate, we are confident of winning all 15 seats", Yediyurappa told reporters on Saturday.
The Congress, which had won 12 of those 15 seats in the previous election, was leading only in two segments: Hunsur and Shivajinagar. As the BJP was emerging victorious, Congress leader and former minister DK Shivakumar accepted defeat.

Disney criticised after minor white ‘Aladdin’ character gets a spin-off
Dunn and Kvamme have written comedy together in the past, including Operation Prince of Freedom for Fox. In Aladdin , Anders was a prince from a kingdom called Skanland and was Princess Jasmine's suitor.

After the fall of the HD Kumaraswamy government in July this year, BJP's BS Yediyurappa formed the government with the help of his party's 105 MLAs and one Independent legislator.

BJP's rebel and independent candidate Sharath Bachegowda, son of Chikkaballapura BJP Lok Sabha member B.N. Bachegowda, was leading ahead of the party's official candidate M.T.B. We have to go by the mandate of the people, even if they have accepted those who betrayed and defected.

BJP candidate from KR Pete, KC Narayana Gowda defeated JD (S)'s BL Devaraj. H.P.Manjunath of the Congress is leading in Hunasuru constituency against A.H.Vishwanath of the BJP by 11,652 votes. The party continues to lead in 10 other seats out of the 15 Assembly bypolls held on 5 December.

As per BTV exit poll, BJP might get 9-11 seats, Congress 2-4 and JD (S) 0-2.

The BJP's Yellapur candidate Arabail Shivaram Hebbar became the first to register a victory in the bypolls. According to JD (S) sources, the changing stance could affect the party's chances.

Around 67.9 per cent (26 lakh) of the 38 lakh voters cast their ballots in the 15 constituencies to fill the vacancies caused by the resignation of 14 Congress and three Janata Dal-Secular (JD-S) and their subsequent disqualification by former Assembly Speaker KR Ramesh Kumar for defying their party whip.

Like this: