Published: Thu, November 14, 2019
Sport | By Kayla Schwartz

Mets' Pete Alonso, Astros' Yordan Alvarez win Rookie of the Year honors

Mets' Pete Alonso, Astros' Yordan Alvarez win Rookie of the Year honors

Soroka, 22, went 13-4 with a 2.68 ERA in 29 starts for the Braves.

Baggarly said he asked colleagues, "If I'm the only voter who keeps Alonso from being a unanimous victor, will Mets fans mildly torch me?"

Alvarez, of the pennant-winning Houston Astros, received all 30 first-place votes, becoming the 11th unanimous victor in the history of the award.

Baltimore's John Means finished second with a total of 16 second-place votes (53 points), while Tampa's Brandon Lowe was third (27 points). Most recently, in 2017, Aaron Judge won unanimously in the AL and Cody Bellinger in the NL. The 26-year-old All-Star had a solid 1.14 WHIP and struck out 121 in 155 innings.

Despite Alonso's record-setting numbers, the NL race would have been much closer had Fernando Tatis Jr. not been limited to 84 games by injury.

Big Apple-sized struggles as Giants, Jets square off
Gase and the Jets have a chance to really begin to turn things around - including public opinion - with another win Sunday. That leaves the Jets with four healthy cornerbacks in Nate Hairston, Brian Poole, Arthur Maulet and Maurice Canady.

He is the first Rookie of the Year to lead the majors outright in home runs with 53.

He's the third Houston player to win the award, following teammate Carlos Correa in 2015 and Hall of Famer Jeff Bagwell in 1991.

DeGrom became the 11th pitcher to secure successive Cy Young Awards after appearing at the top of all but one of the 30 ballots this year. He is the sixth Mets player to win the award, joining Jacob de Grom (2014), Dwight Gooden (1984), Daryl Strawberry (1983), Jon Matlack in (1972) and Tom Seaver (1967).

Pittsburgh Pirates outfielder Bryan Reynolds was fourth in the NL balloting, followed by fifth-place Dakota Hudson, a right-hander for the St. Louis Cardinals.

Like this: