Published: Fri, October 11, 2019
Global News | By Blake Casey

Coveted Nobel Peace Prize to be handed out amid speculation

Coveted Nobel Peace Prize to be handed out amid speculation

Since taking office in April 2018 after the resignation of Hailemariam Desalegn following three years of street unrest, Abiy has announced a series of reforms that hold the promise of fundamentally changing the country of some 100 million people.

The committee's citation also says it hopes the prize will encourage efforts to promote reconciliation, solidarity and social justice.

The Norwegian Nobel Committee said Ahmed was given the prize "for his efforts to achieve peace and worldwide cooperation, and in particular for his decisive initiative to resolve the border conflict with neighbouring Eritrea".

Ethiopian Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed was on Friday awarded the Nobel Peace Prize for his efforts to resolve his country's conflict with bitter foe Eritrea, the Nobel Committee said.

However, many challenges remain unresolved.

Ethiopian prime ministerAbiy Ahmed, who helped bring an end to his country's two-decade long conflict with Eritrea over a disputed border which has seen several million displaced and tens of thousands killed, is another strong contender.

The annual, highly-anticipated prize is given by the Nobel Committee to the individual or group who is chose to have done the most to advance the cause of world peace.

Fitness Facts: Breast cancer awareness
Many women lose lives to breast cancer due to lack of awareness about the disease, said First Lady Begum Samina Alvi on Wednesday. This means more successful treatment, a better quality of life for the sick women and their families and healing.

Last year, the Nobel Peace Prize went to physician Denis Mukwege and Yazidi sexual abuse survivor Nadia Murad for their efforts to end the use of sexual violence as a weapon of war.

Other notable Nobel Peace Prize winners include former US President Jimmy Carter (2002), child education activist Malala Yousafzai (shared 2014), the European Union (2012), the United Nations and its then-general-secretary, Kofi Annan, (shared 2001) and Saint Teresa of Calcutta (1979).

This year's prize will be presented at a ceremony in Oslo on December 10, the anniversary of the 1896 death of prize creator Alfred Nobel, a Swedish philanthropist and scientist.

Two literature prizes were awarded Thursday: the 2018 prize went to Polish novelist Olga Tokarczuk and the 2019 award was given to Austrian author Peter Handke.

The announcement was made at a press conference at the Norwegian Nobel Institute in Oslo.

Achievements in Medicine, Physics and Chemistry have already been honoured and the Economics Prize will wrap up the 2019 Nobel prize season on October 14.

Like this: