Published: Mon, September 02, 2019
Sport | By Kayla Schwartz

Messi, Ronaldo, Van Dijk in FIFA The Best final three

Messi, Ronaldo, Van Dijk in FIFA The Best final three

The trio were also nominated for the UEFA Men's Player of the Year award, with Van Dijk coming out on top.

Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo, and Virgil van Dijk have been named as the finalists for The Best FIFA Men's Player Award.

Jurgen Klopp, Pep Guardiola and Mauricio Pochettino were included in the shortlist of nominees for the Best Coach award, with the German standing out as the big favourite after taking the Champions League back to Liverpool after 14 years.

Luka Modric, who won the award a year ago after leading Croatia to the World Cup final, did not make the 10-man shortlist.

The Dutch defender was crucial as Liverpool won the Champions League last season, while Messi scored 51 goals in 50 Barca appearances and Ronaldo won Serie A in his first season as a Juventus player before leading Portugal to victory in the Nations League finals.

Next up, are The Best FIFA Awards, as the build-up to Ballon d'Or 2019 continues.

A public vote was then held, with goals from Lionel Messi, Juan Fernando Quintero and Daniel Zsori making the final shortlist.

New Texas laws loosening gun control draw outrage after Odessa shooting
The new law allows Texas gun owners to carry a gun for 48 hours after an evacuation order, with or without a license to carry. Too many Texans have lost their lives.

England star Lucy Bronze, completes the nominations for Women's Best Player.

He was recognised for his exploits just last week, when he was named UEFA's Player of the Year, beating Messi and Ronaldo to the prize.

As for the best coaches in women's football, FIFA highlighted Jill Ellis (USA), Phil Neville (England) and Sarina Wiegman (Netherlands). Ellis guided United States of America to World Cup success while Neville's Lionesses reached the semi-finals.

Messi's Barca team-mate Marc-Andre ter Stegen is among the three finalists for the goalkeeper award, with City's Ederson and Alisson of Liverpool also in the hunt.

US coach Jill Ellis and Netherlands boss Sarina Wiegman complete the shortlist.

Silvia Grecco from Brazil, the Netherlands fans at the Women's World Cup and Justo Sanchez from Uruguay are nominated for the Fan Award.

The award for the best women's goalkeeper will be between Paris Saint-Germain's Christiane Endler, Wolfsburg's Hedvig Lindahl and Atletico Madrid's Sari van Veenendaal.

Like this: