Published: Thu, June 13, 2019
Electronics | By Kelly Massey

Google Photos stops syncing with Google Drive in July

Google Photos stops syncing with Google Drive in July

To replace it, Google is introducing a new feature on the Google Photos' website called "Upload from Drive", which will let you manually pick photos and video you want to import from your Google Drive account.

In a bid to make things simpler, for regular users and G Suite customers, Google will now implement a more "granular control" over the services to prevent accidental changes and deletion of items across these two products.

For Google users, the auto sync of photos and videos with Google Drive and Google Photos was not ideal.

Apparently users have been confused that deleting a photo in Google Photos deletes the copy of it in Google Drive - and vice versa - and other oddities such as edits made in Google Photos not showing up on the photo in Google Drive.

Trump's paper hints at deal to share burden on refugees with Mexico
He continued to hammer the point that until recently there was no arrangement with Mexico. The president refused to share details of what was on that piece of paper.


Google's Backup and Sync tool will continue to function as you would expect, and is capable to uploading files to both Drive and Photos.

From 10 July, a new feature is being added to photos.google.com that will enable you to manually choose photos and videos from Drive and import them to Google Photos.

The file-syncing automatically added images from your Google Photos account to Google Drive and vice-versa. From next month, cross-syncing between the two apps won't happen automatically as the company has heard feedback about the confusion it can create for file management.

Google goes on to say that any media from Drive in Photos that you have uploaded prior to this change will remain in Photos. Copied items are not linked back to the original service. Your Google Photos folder in Drive will remain but will no longer update automatically as before. It will also disallow you to put all the photos and videos stored in your Photos app to your PC by simply syncing your Drive folder. While this simplifies things drastically for users, it also means that both services will now have to monitored individually when it comes to storing photos and videos. Photos uploaded in "High Quality" will stay free and won't count against your monthly storage quota.

Like this: