Published: Fri, May 10, 2019
Sport | By Kayla Schwartz

Australia to host Pakistan, New Zealand in tests in 2019-20

Australia to host Pakistan, New Zealand in tests in 2019-20

Australia will return to the Gabba to open its test summer in a series against Pakistan that will count for points in the ICC's Test Championship.

In a tweak to the usual day-night scheduling, the Perth Test will start at 1:00pm local time and finish at 8L00pm to cater to Australia's dominant TV audience in the east of the country.

Australia's worldwide summer of men's cricket will feature visiting teams from New Zealand, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

The ICC Test Championship is created to deliver greater context to Test cricket and make every match count with nine countries participating for the 2019-2021 title.

Cricket Australia released their 2019-20 summer schedule today.

However, the Australians are hopeful that they would get BCCI to agree to playing a day-nighter on their next tour of the country, set to take place during 2020/21 season.

Cricket Australia also honoured its commitment to Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) as they have chose to tour India for three ODIs mid-January next year.

Embiid Propels Philadelphia 76ers for the First NBA Championship since 1983
Gasol ended up finding himself uncontested and made two three-pointers on Sunday. "We had to try to grind, man", Ibaka said. The Raptors managed to snap their two-game losing streak with a win over the 76ers on Sunday, evening up the series at 2-2.

After the Test series, New Zealand will return for the three Chappell-Hadlee ODIs on March 13, 15, and 20. It will be a day-night test which will start at 6pm NZT.

Of the five Australian test matches scheduled for the season, only the traditional Boxing Day test in Melbourne and New Year's test in Sydney (both against New Zealand) will be day matches, with the first three tests of the summer to be day-night affairs.

Global cricket will be played at 10 venues: Adelaide Oval, Allan Border Field, Blundstone Arena, The Gabba, Junction Oval, North Sydney Oval, Manuka Oval, MCG, Perth Stadium and SCG. It will be a followed by three matches T20I series against Pakistan which is slated to be played in Sydney, Canberra and Perth.

"We evaluated different options for an alternative and saw the most value in the March opportunity", Mr Roach said.

Twenty eight worldwide matches, in addition to the Women's T20 World Cup, will be played across 10 venues in the 2019-20 season in Australia starting September.

"Queensland Cricket has been steadfast in its desire to see the Gabba retain the First Test and deliver a level of certainty to the tens of thousands of cricket fans who enjoy watching the Australian team play in at the venue where they have experienced such sustained success".

March 20: Australia vs New Zealand, 3rd ODI (Hobart, D/N).

Like this: