Published: Sun, February 10, 2019
Sport | By Kayla Schwartz

India levels series as Black Caps fail to fire

India levels series as Black Caps fail to fire

Stand-in Skipper Rohit Sharma after becoming the leading run-scorer in the T20 global, led India from the front as they defeated hosts by seven wickets to level the three-match series 1-1.

His team dominated New Zealand with bat and ball to avenge an 80-run loss in the opening fixture in Wellington - India's heaviest ever T20 defeat. It was India's first T20I at the Eden Park and the Indian team was just brilliant throughout. The first wicket fell in the third over.

INDIA: Rohit Sharma c Southee b Sodhi 50 (29b, 3x4, 4x6), Shikhar Dhawan c de Grandhomme b Ferguson 30 (31b, 2x4), Rishabh Pant (not out) 40 (28b, 4x4, 1x6), Vijay Shankar c Southee b Mitchell 14 (8b, 1x4, 1x6), M.S. Dhoni (not out) 20 (17b, 1x4); Extras (lb-1, b-2, w-5): 8; Total (for three 18.5 overs): 162.

"DD News" is the News Channel of India's Public Service Broadcaster "Prasar Bharati".

Talking about the match, India sealed a 159-run chase in the penultimate over of the match without much discomfort.

Rapid City man, a former INF inspector, reacts to treaty collapse
Ryabkov said the United States had not sent Moscow any concrete proposals for a new pact. Moscow denies violating the treaty.

TV replays clearly showed there was an inside edge and a patch on the hotspot could also be detected when the ball beat Mitchell's bat.

The final match of the series is at Hamilton on Sunday.

Dhoni, who last captained India in a T20I against West Indies at Lauderhill in 2016, was once again seen taking on-field decisions.

Such a result wasn't a surprise - India had not lost back-to-back twenty20 clashes in a series since 2015, and it was always going to be hard for the Black Caps to back up their record win in the series opener. Given out lbw to Krunal Pandya on just his second delivery, Mitchell quickly reviewed, indicating to captain Kane Williamson that he had hit the ball. Kane Williamson would want his batsman to show more composure on the pitch.

Predicted Playing XI: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Vijay Shankar, Rishabh Pant, MS Dhoni, Dinesh Karthik, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed, and Yuzvendra Chahal. They came into this game to win and that's what they ended the game with. New Zealand skipper Kane Williamson and no. 4 batsman Daryl Mitchell also failed to entertain the crowd as they were removed for 20 and 1 run respectively.

Like this: