Published: Sun, February 10, 2019
Electronics | By Kelly Massey

How to merge Fortnite accounts with Epic Games

How to merge Fortnite accounts with Epic Games

The inciting incident of the PlayStation cross-play fiasco has finally been resolved in Fortnite.

It wasn't that long ago that Sony didn't allow cross play on PS4, so you'd have to have a separate account to play the battle royale shooter on that platform. Both accounts must have been actively played on before September 28th 2018. If you have a Battle Pass active or maps you want to keep on one platform, make sure to select it as your Primary Account to keep your work.

You'll choose two accounts, first a Primary Account that you wish to continue using. The secondary account will then be disabled. This feature will let all V-bucks and items earned across two accounts to finally be in one place. One of the accounts being merged must have played on Xbox One or Switch before September 2018, and the other account must have played on PS4 before September 2018. Here's how to merge Fortnite accounts from PlayStation 4 to other consoles and transfer items from secondary accounts into the player's primary account.

Account merging grants players the ability to use just one (1) account across multiple platforms. You do have the option to unlink accounts prior to merging, however. Additionally, neither of the accounts you're trying to merge can be banned or disabled.

We Will Fight For Title With Every Fibre - Jurgen Klopp
Though there will be, of course, 22 players who will walk out onto the pitch at the Etihad for the must-watch Premier League tie between Manchester City and Chelsea this weekend, there is one man who should be attracting the most attention as he reaches his own personal milestone.


As might be expected, there are a few things that will not survive the account merge: Unreal Marketplace items, Creative Islands, and Save the World account level and progress.

The first stage of the process is heading over to the Epic Games website and selecting the merge account option. Nearly everything on the secondary account gets moved to the primary account, and then the secondary will be disabled. If you've been playing Save The World, you will bring over your secondary account's XP, Heroes, Llamas, Defenders, Schematics, Survivors, Evolution and Perk Materials.

Fortnite Creative will be available December 6 for those with a Battle Pass.

Like this: