Published: Wed, January 09, 2019
Sport | By Kayla Schwartz

CAF Awards, S. Africa's Kgatlana, Egypt's Mo Salah are the best

CAF Awards, S. Africa's Kgatlana, Egypt's Mo Salah are the best

The Egyptian forward was voted the victor at the Confederation of African Football's (CAF) 2018 awards ceremony in Dakar on Tuesday.

Just as he did 12 months ago, Salah beat fellow nominees including Liverpool FC Senegalese teammate Sadio Mane and Gabon's (and Arsenal) Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang to land the award.

Salah has hit the ground running this season as well, racking up 16 goals to guide Liverpool to the top of the Premier League table.

Josh is a writer who specialises in football and wrestling.

Egypt worldwide Mohamed Salah has been included in the Confederation of African Football's (CAF) best eleven for 2018.

Click through the gallery to see the last six winners of the biggest award in African football. Hours earlier, his country had been awarded the hosting rights for the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations after the CAF had stripped original hosts Cameroon of the honour.

Ironically, Aubameyang has scored one league goal more than Salah, topping the charts with Tottenham Hotspur and England star Harry Kane on 14.

Salah found scoring hard early in his professional career and was nicknamed "chancentod" (chance killer) by the Swiss media.

Native land rights up in the air in Brazil
Venezuela has suffered from hyperinflation and political chaos under leftist President Nicolas Maduro in recent years. The decree published late Tuesday marked Bolsonaro's first order since taking office earlier that same day.

Salah blossomed in Rome, averaging close to a goal every two matches, and Liverpool paid nearly 37 million pounds (about $47 mn/41 mn euros) to sign him two years ago.

The 26-year-old also went to the World Cup with Egypt although was not at his best.

The Super Falcons won the first award of the night; as they were voted as the Best National Women Team for the Year.

Houston Dash and South Africa forward Thembi Kgatlana was named Women's Player of the Year.

He follows Yaya Toure, El Hadji Diouf and Samuel Eto'o in winning back-to-back trophies.

The other male awards went to France-born Morocco coach Herve Renard, the Mauritania national team, and Moroccan Achraf Hakimi in the youth category.

Kgatlana also took the Goal of the Year award.

Like this: