Published: Tue, December 04, 2018
Sport | By Kayla Schwartz

Heisman 3: Tua Tagovailoa, Kyler Murray, Dwayne Haskins

Heisman 3: Tua Tagovailoa, Kyler Murray, Dwayne Haskins

For the majority of the season, the Heisman Trophy race was considered to be all but wrapped up by Alabama quarterback Tua Tagovailoa. Still, the Alabama quarterback would make for a worthy trophy recepient, totaling 3,353 passing yards and 37 touchdowns while leading the Crimson Tide to the No. 1 seed in the College Football Playoff.

It's official: Oklahoma quarterback Kyler Murray is heading to New York City as a Heisman Trophy finalist.

The victor of the Heisman Trophy will be announced at a ceremony Saturday night in NY.

Israel launches operation to destroy Hezbollah tunnels
A government official said the operation would likely take weeks. Hezbollah has not responded to the military operation yet. The two fought an inconclusive, month-long war in 2006.

OU's other Heisman finalists were linebacker Brian Bosworth (1986), quarterback Josh Heupel (2000), quarterback Jason White (2003 and 2004), running back Adrian Peterson (2004), quarterback Sam Bradford (2008), wide receiver Dede Westbrook (2016) and quarterback Baker Mayfield (2016 and '17). Haskins also leapfrogged Grier as the nation's No. 2 passer after the Big Ten title game and added to his national lead with 47 touchdown passes.

Murray, a two-sport star who was selected by the A's in the first round of the Major League Baseball draft last June, produced 51 touchdowns - 40 through the air and 11 on the ground - 4,985 all-purpose yards and led the nation in quarterback efficiency rating (205.7) and yards per pass attempt (11.9). He has also rushed for 892 yards and another 11 scores. He established hmself as one of the top offensive talents in college football early, throwing for 1,033 yards and 12 touchdowns through Alabama's first four games of the season. Tagovailoa would be the third Alabama player to win the Heisman since 2009, but the first quarterback, joining tailbacks Mark Ingram and Derrick Henry.

Ohio State, Southern California and Notre Dame have won the most Heisman's with seven. The next most is three (by six schools).

Like this: