Published: Mon, December 03, 2018
Sport | By Kayla Schwartz

Woods avoids penalty despite double-hitting shot

Woods avoids penalty despite double-hitting shot

Slow-motion, high definition television replays showed Woods' club making contact with the ball at least twice as he scooped it out of a bush on the final hole at Albany in the Bahamas. While kneeling on his right knee, Woods used an 8-iron to flick the ball back onto the grass.

Here's what PGA Tour Vice President of Rules and Competitions Mark Russell said when speaking with media about the incident.

After finishing his round with a double-bogey at 18, Woods waited 25 minutes before signing his scorecard and emerging from the tent, having met with rules officials to determine if there was a penalty. "I felt I was trying to play a shot". "In slow motion, you can see I did hit it twice".

As for the state of his body, Woods confirmed he was dealing with sore ankles, but remained vague on the nature of his issues without suggesting they were related to his April 2017 spinal fusion. Justin Rose, who is another stroke back after a 69, has a chance to return to No. 1 in the world this week and move ahead of Brooks Koepka if he finishes no worse than in a three-way tie for second. Here's guessing the former will continue, while the latter, which included five bogeys, gets turned around.

"I don't think anything needs to be resolved", Reed said.

Former Autonomy boss Lynch to fight U.S. fraud charges
British entrepreneur Mike Lynch faces criminal charges over the sale of his software company Autonomy to Hewlett-Packard. HP has sought to blame Autonomy for its own crippling errors, and has falsely accused Mike Lynch to cover its own tracks.


"Looking at it in the regular speed on a high-definition television, you couldn't tell that at all, but when you slowed it down to ultraslow motion high-definition television, you could see where (the ball) did stay on the clubface quite a bit of time and it looked like he might have hit it twice, but there's no way he could tell that".

Starting in 2019, the rule will change, with no penalty assessed but the second stroke added to the scorecard. All but three players were at par or better.

"Now, if I don't make it on points, then it's up to myself, my vice-captains and the rest of the players who are already on the team, who is the best suited to play", he said. "It's confusing enough as is".

Reed told the New York Times that he had been "blindsided" when captain Jim Furyk opted against pairing him with Spieth, the 28-year-old instead playing and losing twice with Woods as a fractious USA team was well beaten by Europe.

"Yes, I would like to captain the side and that precedent has already been set - 1994 when Hale Irwin was captain", said Woods.

Like this: