Published: Thu, November 15, 2018
Sport | By Kayla Schwartz

Blake Snell, Jacob deGrom named Cy Young Award winners

Blake Snell, Jacob deGrom named Cy Young Award winners

Jacob deGrom was named as the victor of the 2018 NL Cy Young award for his outstanding performances on the mound this season. Other Cy Young winners from the Mets include Dwight Gooden (1985), and Tom Seaver (1969, '73, '75).

The Mets unveiled a deGrom bobblehead featuring the Cy Young Award shortly after deGrom was crowned. The 25-year-old pitched had 33 1/3 fewer innings than Verlander, but his dominance was enough to sway the electorate.

The American League consists of the following teams: Baltimore Orioles; Boston Red Sox; Chicago White Sox; Cleveland Indians; Detroit Tigers; Houston Astros; Kansas City Royals; Los Angeles Angels; Minnesota Twins; New York Yankees; Oakland Athletics; Seattle Mariners; Tampa Bay Rays; Texas Rangers; and Toronto Blue Jays. That came during a late-season run of nine consecutive wins for Snell, including a victory against every team in the AL East.

Down the stretch, Verlander was almost flawless in his final regular season starts in September, where he went 3-0 en route to the postseason. He was even demoted to Triple-A for a month in 2017.

Major League Baseball (MLB) is the most historic professional sports league in the United States and consists of 30 member clubs in the USA and Canada, representing the highest level of professional baseball.

Michelle Obama Opens Up About Her Heartbreaking Miscarriage
The former first lady has consistently said she is not interested and has no plans to run for public office. Winfrey will interview Obama in Chicago Tuesday night - the first stop on her high-profile book tour.

"This mean as whole lot", Snell said."It's something I wanted to achieve this year".

Snell is the second Rays pitcher to win the award, following David Price in 2012.

Scherzer had another spectacular season, leading the league with a career-high 300 strikeouts. Phillies right-hander Aaron Nola, who for part of the summer was locked with deGrom and Scherzer in a three-way battle for the prize, received 86 points to finish third. Scherzer got the other first-place vote.

Snell also won his first Cy Young Award, earning 17 first-place votes en route to securing the honor. He pitched over 210 innings and finished 16-9 with a 2.52 ERA while striking out 290.

Kluber was attempting to win his second straight Cy Young and third overall.

Like this: