Published: Wed, October 17, 2018
Life&Culture | By Sue Mclaughlin

Oxford Alumnus becomes youngest nominee for Man Booker Prize

Oxford Alumnus becomes youngest nominee for Man Booker Prize

Kwame Anthony Appiah, chair of judges, said, "All of our six finalists are miracles of stylistic invention".

"The Long Take" is one of two debut novels on the list, alongside "Everything Under", a story of words and memory by British writer Daisy Johnson.

"Washington Black" follows the saga of an 11-year-old boy who escapes slavery at a Barbados sugar plantation with the help of the owner's kinder brother.

The panel of judges, from left, Jacqueline Rose, Kwame Anthony Appiah, Val McDermid, Leo Robson and Leanne Shapton pose for a photo, during the Man Booker Prize 2018 shortlist announcement, at Riverbank House, in London, Thursday, Sept. 20, 2018.

For more, including the complete shortlist, see the Man Booker Prize website. At 26, she is the youngest writer ever to be shortlisted for the prize. Praised as the best chronicler of the millennial generation in English, Rooney is making waves with her second novel, Normal People, though the jury didn't deem her fit to graduate to the shortlist.

Meet TCL's Palm Palm, a kitten like phone
" Palm was one of the first companies to bring your digital life from your desktop to your palm back in 1996", the company said. The Palm is a handsome little thing, crafted from aluminum and Gorilla Glass 3, but I couldn't imagine using this thing all day.

Award-winning U.S. author Richard Powers was selected for his novel "about trees and people who understand them".

She said: "A verse novel with photographs, it manages to evoke with exceptional vividness aspects of post-World War Two history that are rarely parsed together".

The Man Booker Prize is open to writers of any nationality writing in English and published in the United Kingdom and Ireland. Kushner's novel The Mars Room takes on gender, class and the American dream in a story of poverty and incarceration, while the National Book Award-winning Powers is nominated for The Overstory, about nine strangers trying to save a continent's last few virgin acres of virgin forest.

The shortlisted authors each receive 2,500 GBP (€2,815 / $3,295), whereas the victor is given a cash prize of 50,000 GBP ($66,000) - and can expect a substantial upsurge in book sales worldwide.

Previous winners of the prize that was launched in 1969 also include Salman Rushdie, Yann Martel, Margaret Atwood, Michael Ondaatje and Kazuo Ishiguro. The victor of the Man Booker will be announced on October 16.

Like this: