Published: Tue, September 25, 2018
Sport | By Kayla Schwartz

Women's Ballon d'Or to be introduced

Women's Ballon d'Or to be introduced

Eden Hazard has revealed that he voted for Real Madrid and Croatia superstar Luka Modric to win the Best FIFA Men's Player award.

Deschamps, who became just the third man to win the World Cup as a player and coach, beat off competition from Dalic and his former France team-mate Zinedine Zidane, who won a third consecutive Champions League title with Real Madrid before resigning in June.

Modric's win breaks the Lionel Messi-Ronaldo duopoly of the last 10 years and it follows his player of the tournament prize at Russian Federation 2018 and UEFA player of the year accolade last month.

Luka Modric has broken a decade of award dominance by Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi after being crowned world footballer of the year by Federation Internationale de Football Association, while Marta won the women's award for a sixth time. Ronaldo also scored a memorable hat-trick in the FIFA World Cup but did not progress beyond the round of 16.

He beat Ronaldo and Liverpool's Egyptian forward Mohamed Salah to the prize.

"These things were not a burden, they only further motivated me", Modric said at the World Cup.

'We are all football lovers and we know Modric is an incredible player'.

Volkswagen's Porsche drops diesel in electric auto push
The German carmaker Porsche says it will stop making diesel cars, and concentrate on petrol, electric and hybrid engines instead. It follows the emissions scandal involving parent company Volkswagen which admitted cheating emissions tests for diesel cars.

And Modric, who was linked with a move to Inter during the transfer window, added another individual honor at FIFA's Best Awards on Monday. She also scored 13 goals as Orlando Pride reached the NWSL playoffs.

No French player was on the shortlist but Didier Deschamps was voted manager of the year after becoming only the third man to win the World Cup as a player and coach.

Salah was crowned the FIFA Puskas Award victor for his goal against Everton in December 2017.

The annual award, which will be given at this year's ceremony in Paris on December 8, is a regular feature for men since 1956 with England great Stanley Matthews winning the inaugural trophy.

Here is the Salah strike that won the top prize.

The Belgium keeper also completed a UEFA and Federation Internationale de Football Association double having been awarded the Golden Glove for his performances at the World Cup. The German forward missed a weeks' training and a match for his then side VVV-Venlo in the Dutch Eredivisie to donate stem cells for potentially life-saving treatment for a patient battling leukaemia.

Like this: