Published: Tue, July 03, 2018
Electronics | By Kelly Massey

Facebook Bug Removed Some Users From Block Lists of 800000 Users

Facebook Bug Removed Some Users From Block Lists of 800000 Users

If you are anxious that you would need to again block the Facebook users you had blocked in the past, Facebook says it has taken care of that for you. At least unless you say otherwise.

The social network is notifying more than 800,000 users "about a bug in Facebook and Messenger that unblocked some people they had blocked" between May 29 and June 5, Erin Egan, Chief Privacy Officer, wrote in a blog post.

Today, the company said it had discovered a bug that, from May 29 to June 5, accidentally unblocked more than 800,000 people that Facebook and Messenger users had blocked. The social networking giant that doesn't consider itself a monopoly has said that a software "bug" unblocked some people who had been blocked by another user.

"We know that the ability to block someone is important - and we'd like to apologise and explain what happened".

Roger Federer walks out at Wimbledon in Uniqlo shirt, not Nike
Long-time Nike endorser Roger Federer has officially left the company for a new contract with Japanese clothing company Uniqlo. Sports news site ESPN reported the price tag of Federer's new deal, but Uniqlo has not shared the specific terms.


Blocking someone also automatically "unfriends" the person.

Egan explained that blocked users can't add you as a friend, see things you post on your profile, or begin Messenger conversations with you. They would also have been able to send messages to the user, something a blocked person usually cannot do.

Egan acknowledged how serious the bug was, especially for users who blocked possibly invasive people.

The bug did not reinstate any Facebook friendships, and the majority of those affected only had one person unblocked. Affected users, nevertheless, are going to get a notification encouraging them to review their blocked list. In other news, Facebook is rolling out a number of API changes for third-party apps to limit information access to protect user's privacy after the Cambridge Analytica saga. Personal and sensitive data of users was scraped by the analytics company which was allegedly used for Trump campaign for the U.S. presidential polls 2016, among others.

Like this: