Published: Thu, June 21, 2018
Sport | By Kayla Schwartz

Phil Mickelson finally admits truth behind US Open explosion

Phil Mickelson finally admits truth behind US Open explosion

At the 13th hole at Shinnecock Hills, Mickelson had lined up to putt for bogey but sent the ball past the hole. "'I withdraw.' Those are the next words Mickelson should say on his way out of the U.S. Open and into a better and brighter tomorrow".

"You know, I don't know if I'd go to the lengths that he went to make a statement like that, but I thought there was a massive over-reaction to it". "It was clearly not my finest moment and I'm sorry".

Mickelson set golf twitter on fire during the third round when he missed a putt and ran hit the ball back towards the hole before letting it come to rest.

"I don't mean any disrespect and if that's the way people took it I apologize to them".

Struggling to handle third round conditions at Shinnecock Hills that the USGA later lamented, the five-time Major victor (48) stopped his 15-foot bogey putt running off the 13th green, swatting it back towards the hole when it was still in motion. "I'll gladly take my 2 strokes and move on".

One golfer who offered some level of support and understanding for Mickelson was Jordan Spieth, who spoke out about the issue Tuesday at the Travelers Championship. The conditions the first day were tough, but I just shot myself in the foot.

Beyonce and Jay-Z's joint album completed hours before release
Everything Is Love dropped without warning yesterday, though Jay-Z had previously alluded to the existence of a joint album. In this nine track album the couple don't just talk about their relationship, they also mention, President Trump.


He defended his weird play, which coincidentally took place on his 48th birthday, saying, "I didn't feel like continuing my display ..."

The latest comments from Mickelson, however, suggest his actions - which many critics felt bent the usual etiquette and spirit of the game - were more of an impulse rather than the calculated use of the rule book.

"Phil really did want to understand how the rule operates because - as he said to me - 'I don't want to play in this championship if I should have been disqualified, "' Davis said.

USGA officials said disqualification was not in order for his violation.

"That's where we clarified that, 'Phil, you actually made a stroke at a moving ball, and so we have to apply that rule.' That's different than if he had deliberately just stopped the ball or whacked it in another direction or something like that".

Like this: