Published: Thu, June 14, 2018
Global News | By Blake Casey

President Trump Nominated for Nobel Peace Prize Again

It did not take long for bookmakers to slash Donald Trump's odds of winning the Nobel Peace Prize in the wake of the historic summit with North Korean leader Kim Jong Un.

The lawmakers, Christian Tybring-Gjedde and Per-Willy Amundsen, are from the country's Progress Party, a right-leaning libertarian party.

A group of USA lawmakers also are backing Trump's nomination for the 2019 Nobel Peace Prize.

The Nobel Peace Prize is awarded to someone "who shall have done the most or the best work for fraternity between nations, the abolition or reduction of standing armies and for the holding and promotion of peace congresses", according to the prize's website.

South Korean President Moon Jae-in also said in April that Trump is worthy of the Nobel prize for jump-starting the peace talks with North Korea.

Now that the Trump-Kim summit has come to a successful end, people have started guessing whether this breakthrough in relations between the U.S. and DPRK will bring its leaders the Nobel Peace Prize. The Nobel Committee in Oslo typically receives hundreds of nominations each year, and past candidates have also included Russian President Vladimir Putin and Former Cuban leader Fidel Castro. Jagland declined to comment on Trump's chances after the summit.

Plan to Break Up California Makes Fall Ballot - Hit & Run
News and World report showing California ranked 50th for quality of life, 43rd for fiscal stability and 26th for education. Voters supported breaking up California into two states in 1859, but Congress never moved forward with the proposal.

President Barack Obama, who received the Nobel Peace Prize in 2009, is the most recent American recipient.

The Norwegian Nobel Committee's vice-chair, Henrik Syse, wrote in a blog in December, 2016, that: "President-elect Donald Trump has, with his rhetoric, lowered the threshold for moral decency so far it is downright scary". His headline: 'Trump is no Hitler'.

The committee's secretary, Olav Njoelstad, said "it is not impossible" for someone who has been criticized by committee members to be considered, and even win, the prize.

The nomination is for the 2019 prize, because nominations for this year closed in January.

The two lawmakers called Trump's actions regarding North Korea "historic", with the potential "to ensure world peace in the future" in statements to Norwegian state broadcaster NRK.

Like this: