Published: Wed, June 13, 2018
Electronics | By Kelly Massey

Phew! Snapchat now lets you delete sent messages

Phew! Snapchat now lets you delete sent messages

It's rolled out a new "clear chat" function which lets you delete stuff you wish had never been sent. Sure, you could delete the whole conversation, but not individual messages.

We've all done it, sent a message in the wrong group etc, but while in the past it would be screenshots all over the place, that could be about to change, as long as you're quick.

Snapchat was already a fairly private way of messaging since it deletes messages once they are seen and the notifications do not reveal the contents of the message.

Paris police in ‘hostage taking’ standoff with armed man
Entering the building located on Rue des Petites Écuries around 4 p.m., the man pretended to be delivering food. An armed man claiming to have a bomb has taken three people including a pregnant woman hostage in Paris .


This new feature - which is rolling out globally over the next few weeks - also notifies others in the chat when a message is deleted. This latest feature is built with the original spirit of Snapchat in mind, as gives users more control over the "permanence" of their messages.

Now, Snapchat is going to make it easier for you to go back and quickly delete the message from your conversations in the app. "Tap it and Snapchat will try to retract the message, though it admits it won't always work if the recipient lacks an Internet connection or updated version of the app", the report added.

Like this: