Published: Sat, May 26, 2018
Electronics | By Kelly Massey

Apple Launches New Data and Privacy Website

Apple Launches New Data and Privacy Website

Apple has released a new Data & Privacy website which holds a choice for Apple users to download all the data connected to their Apple ID account that the company keeps on its servers. However, once your data is deactivated, not even Apple can access it. Apple informs you when the data is available to download, and it is automatically erased after 2 weeks.

However, if you've decided upon a life without Apple, or just want to start over and be more careful about what you share with the firm, this might be an option you want to explore.

The launching of Apple's Data and Privacy site is in conjunction with the EU's GDPR rules and as such, it is only available to those living in the European Union along with Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland. And is now confined to Apple accounts recorded in the European Union, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, and Switzerland. There is a separate section for Mail, Drive, and Photos because the files may be significantly larger.

Nipah Virus May Have Reached Karnataka, Two Patients In Mangalore Under Observation
Human-to-human transmission of the virus has been recorded in previous outbreaks in India that killed as many as 50 people. Nipah was first identified in 1998 after pig farmers were infected in the village of Kampung Sungai Nipah, in Malaysia.


The data involved will revolve around your Apple ID account and your iPhone's info plus any data that you have synced to through iCloud. Data about your activity at Apple's online and physical retail stores are also available, including repairs users have requested and their AppleCare support history. This means that your Apple ID data, as well as data you've synced through various apps and processes, including Apple Music and the iCloud, will be available.

Apple says the tool will roll out worldwide in the coming months (via 9to5Mac). Either you can obtain a copy of your data, correct the stored data, deactivate or delete your account.

Like deactivation requests, requesting to delete all data must be verified and takes up to seven days.

Like this: