Published: Thu, May 17, 2018
Global News | By Blake Casey

Karolina Pliskova smashes umpire's chair after blown call

Karolina Pliskova smashes umpire's chair after blown call

The 26-year-old appeared to have brought up game point with a simple overhead smash, only for the ball to be called out.

Replays showed the ball landed inside the sideline but umpire Marta Mrozinska refused to accept Pliskova's pleadings to overturn the call.

Former world number one Karolina Pliskova smashed a hole in the umpire's chair in frustration after she lost to Greece's Maria Sakkari in the second round of the WTA Italian Open on Wednesday.

After Pliskova embraced Sakkari at the net, she went to shake the chair umpire's hand before pulling it back and smashing her racket several times into the umpire's chair, clearly surprising Sakkari and leaving a massive crater in the chair.

And with no hawkeye technology in place to give a definitive decision, the call stood against Pliskova, who ended up losing her serve and Sakkari went on to win the set, and the match, 7-5.

IGP Idris wants to use cultists to implicate me -Saraki
Saraki had raised the alarm on the floor of the Senate over a plot by the IGP to implicate him using "coerced cultists". Mr Saraki stepped down from presiding to allow his deputy, Ike Ekweremadu , to preside as advised by Ibn Na'Allah.


But the drama didn't end there.

She furiously repeatedly struck the umpire's chair with her racket.

Karolina Pliskova is now the world number six in the women's singles rankings, and topped the pile as recently as July 2017.

It was the first time Sakkari had beaten a top-five player in her career.

Like this: