Published: Wed, May 16, 2018
Electronics | By Kelly Massey

No Positive Change in Bengaluru Assembly Polls This Year

No Positive Change in Bengaluru Assembly Polls This Year

"A single-phase polling began at 7.00 am in 222 of the 224 assembly constituencies, including 36 reserved for the Scheduled Castes (SC) and 15 for the Scheduled Tribes (ST)", said an official.

"We have deployed Central Armed Police Forces (CAPF) in strong rooms, adequate security personnel presence will be there at all counting centres to ensure law and order is maintained", OP Rawat, Chief Election Commissioner said.

A survey conducted by the Centre for Media Studies (CMS), based out of New Delhi, has found that the recent elections in Karnataka were the "most expensive ever" assembly polls in terms of money spent by political parties and their candidates. The voting which began at 58,546 polling stations, is equipped with Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) and VVPATs. The results in the Karnataka Polls 2018 were scheduled to be out on May 15.

Noting that over 2,600 candidates were in the fray including 2,400 men and over 200 women, he said that the total number of voters, including service electors were 5,06,90,538, of whom 2,56,75,579 were male, 2,50,09,904 female and 5,055 transgender. Vote counting in RR Nagar will be taken up on May 31. Both BJP and the Congress are confident of gaining majority in the state.

Oil prices fall as market awaits Donald Trump decision on Iran
Instead he announced that Iran would remain a party to the agreement with Europe, and would begin negotiations on changes. Nothing to do with widespread concerns over the absence of prompt inspection opportunities at key Iranian nuclear sites.

The immediate political lesson is that the way Karnataka has voted will offer some clues about the road ahead for not only the two major national parties but also the regional parties, with the Janata Dal (Secular) acting as a proxy for the third group.

The lowest voting percentage of 54.72 was in Bengaluru Urban, followed by Kalaurgi 62.68, Raichur 65.80 and Yadgir 65.84.

Speaking to Mirror Now, Shaina NC of the BJP said that the people of Karnataka were fed up of CM Siddaramaiah's functioning and that this election was, more importantly, a mandate for the South to accept the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

The assembly poll in the state was announced by the Election Commission of India on May 2.

Like this: