Published: Mon, May 14, 2018
Global News | By Blake Casey

Kaduna LG polls: APC clinches 10 seats, PDP 1

Kaduna LG polls: APC clinches 10 seats, PDP 1

"We are aware of the instruction given to the KADSIECOM officials by Governor Nasir El-Rufai to ensure that official results go in favor of candidates of All Progressive Congress, irrespective of the decision of Kaduna state citizens".

Since the disputed ward congresses in which candidates loyal to three senators were allegedly denied level playing field, allegations were rife that they would move against the APC candidates in the local government election.

Results so far released show the PDP won only of 15 local governments.

In a statement issued by the PDP and Coalition of Concerned Kaduna Youths, said, "The State government is using Security agencies to take away returning officers and write fake results which will filter as final results".

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) rejects as highly provocative, fraudulent and completely indefensible the adjustment of final results and declaration of the All Progressives Congress (APC) as victor in areas clearly won by the PDP in the Kaduna state local council elections held on Saturday.

The Returning Officer for the election, Mr Danjuma Baye-Luka, announced the results on Sunday morning in Zonkwa.

Pep Guardiola expects Liverpool Premier League title challenge next year
Meanwhile, Steven Davis remains unavailable for the Saints as he continues to recover from an Achilles tendon problem. He will be tested and needs to be helped out by a backline of Wesley Hoedt, Jack Stephens and Maya Yoshida.

In Zaria local government, the APC won with 42,859 votes against the PDP's 16,033 votes.

The council elections were conducted using electronic voting machines in the area.

The results in other councils are still being awaited as at press time.

Also in Kaduna North, Umar Hayatu was declared the APC victor having polled APC 168,572 while the PDP polled 12,467.

According to him, Mr Elias Maza of the PDP pulled 55,643 votes to defeat APC's John Hassan who polled 31,514 votes.

Like this: