Published: Sun, May 13, 2018
Life&Culture | By Sue Mclaughlin

Power wins third INDYCAR Grand Prix pole position

Power wins third INDYCAR Grand Prix pole position

It was an action-packed day at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, with a record-tying seven different leaders and over 200 passes as Power overcame rain and a costly full-course caution to secure victory.

Scott Dixon stormed through the field to finish in second-place after a poor qualifying session on left the No.9 Ganassi/Honda in 18th place while Wickens in the No.6 Schmidt Peterson entry struggled in the final stages of the race with fuel saving and had to settle for the final spot on the podium.

In doing so, Power earned the 51st pole of his Indy auto career to break a tie with teammate Helio Castroneves for third place on the all-time list.

France's Sebastien Bourdais will start third in Saturday's race after completing the circuit in 1:09.9449 for Dale Coyne Racing.

NBA Playoffs 2018: What time, TV, channel is Cleveland Cavaliers vs
While the Raptors probably had more talent overall, they didn't have anyone on James level and that was the difference. I think both teams will be doing a lot of switching on defense due to their players' versatility.

Three -time Indianapolis 500 champion Helio Castroneves was forced to sit out the final five minutes because he took the checkered flag twice in the second of three qualifying rounds Friday. He drives for Schmidt Peterson Motorsports.

Ed Carpenter Racing rookie Jordan King qualified fifth in the No. 20 Fuzzy's Vodka Chevrolet (1:10.1326, 125.197 mph), his best effort since qualifying fourth at St. Petersburg.

Reigning champion Newgarden trailed home 11th after his error, but holds onto the series lead, a mere two points clear of Rossi.

Two-time INDYCAR Grand Prix victor Simon Pagenaud qualified seventh in the No. 22 Menards Team Penske Chevrolet. Scott Dixon posted the fastest lap of the session.

Like this: